This Week in Worship – for Sunday, December 28th

First Sunday of Christmas Picture122814

Within the gospel reading’s profound words lies the simple message that God is revealed in a human person. Though we may try to understand how the Word existed with God from the beginning of time, the wonder we celebrate at Christmas is that the Word continues to dwell among us. Christ comes among us in the gathered assembly, the scriptures, the waters of new birth, and the bread and the wine. Through these ordinary gifts we receive the fullness of God’s grace and truth.

First Reading: Isaiah 61:10–62:3
Clothed in garments of salvation
Psalm: Psalm 148
The splendor of the LORD is over earth and heaven. (Ps. 148:13)
Second Reading: Galatians 4:4-7
Children and heirs of God
Gospel: Luke 2:22-40
The presentation of the child
Liturgical Color: White

Camp Agape Workday – October 25th

On Saturday, October 25, from 8:00 am to 1:00 pm, help Camp Agape get ready for the fall season.  There is plenty to do, and many hands are needed.  Lodging is available Friday night, but reservations are required.  Breakfast and lunch will be provided on Saturday for all volunteers…For more information or to register, contact Mir at 919-552-9421 or at [email protected]

 

Calendar for the Week of October 5th

Sunday, October 5
8:30am—Worship
9:45am—Sunday School for all ages
11:00am—Worship
12:00pm—2:00pm—NYG Planning Luncheon—Fellowship Hall

Monday, October 6
6:30pm—Worshipful Dancers

Tuesday, October 7
8:30am—12:30pm—APPLESeeds
11:00am—9:00pm—APPLESeeds Fundraiser at Assagio’s
6:45pm—7:45pm—Praise Band Rehearsal—Sanctuary

Wednesday, October 8
8:30am—12:30pm—APPLESeeds
10:00am—OWLs—Fellowship Hall
5:30pm—Koinonia Meal—Potato Bar
6:30pm—Koinonia Programs

Thursday, October 9
8:30am—12:30pm—APPLESeeds
7:00pm—APPLESeeds Board Meeting—Fellowship Hall

Friday, October 10
8:30am—12:30pm—APPLESeeds

Saturday, October 11
9:00am—Altar Guild
9:00am—ANEW Bible Study

Sunday, October 12
8:30am—Worship
9:45am—Sunday School for all ages
11:00am—Worship

Blood Drive

We will be hosting a blood drive in the bloodmobile on Sunday, October 19 from 9:00 – 1:30. You can sign up online at redcrossblood.org by clicking on sponsor code and entering Abiding Presence or you can contact Beth Hartzell at [email protected] or by phone at 919-557-0778 for assistance signing up and she will sign you up. Every donation saves 3 lives and all donations are appreciated. The last few blood drives have had problems with people not showing up – not from our congregation but from people signed up via telephone calls from the Red Cross. We are trying to fill this drive with volunteers from the congregation and the community so the Red Cross has agreed to leave this drive off of the call list. Let’s see if we can fill it up! Thank you!

National Youth Gathering

HELD OVER!!! There is still time to order T-shirts from APLC Youth who will be participating in the National Youth Gathering in Detroit next summer. Shirts are $15 each, and come in a variety of colors – Pink, Yellow, Blue, White, or Green – and are available in sizes from Youth Medium to Adult XX.
Please support our youth as they prepare for NYG—DETROIT!

Calendar for the Week of August 17th

Sunday, August 17
9:45am—Blended Worship
11:00am—HS&MS Youth Parents Meeting with Pastor Diane – Fellowship Hall

Tuesday, August 19
6:00pm—Girl Scouts—GHR

Wednesday, August 20
6:30pm—Adult Book Study

Thursday, August 21
6:00pm—Girl Scouts Service Unit—Fellowship Hall
7:00pm—Men’s BLB—Beef ‘O’ Brady’s

Friday, August 22
7:00pm—Movie Night—”Frozen” – Fellowship Hall

Saturday, August 23
8:00am – 11:00am—Youth Flapjack Fundraiser—Applebee’s

Sunday, August 24
9:45am—Blended Worship
11:00am—Sunday School Teacher Orientation—Fellowship Hall

 

“Good News” Newsletter – July/August 2014

The July/August 2014 combined edition of your Abiding Presence Lutheran Church “Good News” newsletter is now available:

Abiding Presence Good News – July 2014

In this issue:

  • Camp Agapé is 40!
  • Columbarium Quilt Winner
  • Shrimparoo – July 5th
  • Congratulations Graduates

Previous issues of our newsletter can be found at http://www.doveandcross.org/newsletter/.

Calendar for the Week of June 29th

Sunday, June 29
9:45am—Blended Worship
11:00am—Informational Meeting

Monday, June 30
6:00pm—9:00pm—SAFEchild—Fellowship Hall

Wednesday, July 2
6:45pm—Summer Chime Choir Rehearsal—Sanctuary
7:45pm—Shrimparoo Players Rehearsal—Fellowship Hall

Friday, July 4—INDEPENDENCE DAY

Saturday, July 5
5:00pm—7:00pm—Red, White & Blue Shrimparoo

Sunday, July 6
9:45am—Blended Worship

Calendar for the Week of June 22nd

Sunday, June 22
9:45am—Blended Worship
2:00pm—Campfirmation—Camp Agape (through Friday)

Monday, June 23
6:00pm—9:00pm—SAFEchild—Fellowship Hall

Tuesday, June 24
7:00pm—8:00pm—Local Church Youth Leaders—Fellowship Hall

Wednesday, June 25
6:45pm—Summer Chime Choir Rehearsal—Sanctuary
7:45pm—Shrimparoo Players Rehearsal—Fellowship Hall

Thursday, June 26
7:00pm—Women’s BLB—Beef ‘O’ Brady’s

Sunday, June 29
9:45am—Blended Worship

Calendar for the Week of June 15th

Sunday, June 15 — HOLY TRINITY SUNDAY
9:45am—Blended Worship

Monday, June 16
6:00pm—9:00pm—SAFEchild—Fellowship Hall

Wednesday, June 18
6:45pm—Summer Chime Choir Rehearsal — Sanctuary
7:00pm—Shrimparoo Players Rehearsal

Thursday, June 19
7:00pm—Men’s BLB—Beef ‘O’ Brady’s

Saturday, June 21
7:00pm—Family Bingo—Fellowship Hall

Sunday, June 22
9:45am—Blended Worship